

FINAL

APPOINTMENTS MADE AT ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING MONDAY 9 JUNE 2014

Including appointments to Committees, Consultative Forums and Working Parties and Nomination for Chairs of Committees and Vice Chairs for 2014/15 NB. The appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs to Committees will be confirmed at the first meeting of each Committee

Recommendations

Council is asked to **RESOLVE** that

- (1) The schedule of appointments of Members to Committees, Consultative Forums and Working Groups for 2014/15 be approved.
- (2) In respect of the above, the Council, in accordance with Council Procedure Rules, appoint all Members as named deputies for all those meetings (with the exception of Cabinet, Planning Committee and Licensing and Enforcement Committee) to which the Member has not been appointed.
- (3) That the nominations for Chair and Vice Chair of Committees, as set out in the schedule, be noted and that each Committee at its first meeting in the new municipal year 2014/15 confirms and appoints its Chair and Vice Chair.

The political balance calculation in respect of the total number of committee seats includes main or parent committees only. Seats on sub-committees are determined separately. In accordance with the Council's Constitution, representation on the following committees/bodies is **not** subject to political balance rules.

- Constitution and Electoral Working Group
- ICT Working Group
- Equality Champions Group
- Regeneration Advisory Board
- Boundary Review Working Group

Alternative arrangements for appointments to these committees/bodies can be approved provided no Member of the Council votes against.

The number of seats held by the three political groups expressed as a percentage on the City Council (36) is:

Conservative	18 seats	(% of 36) = 50%
Liberal Democrat	9 seats	(% of 36) = 25%
Labour	9 seats	(% of 36) = 25%

When applied to the total number of committee seats (62) seats these percentages give the following aggregate entitlement (rounded up/down to the nearest whole seat) for each Group:-

Conservative	50% of 62 =	31
Liberal Democrat	25% of 62 =	16
Labour	25% of 62 =	16

Variance in total seats = +1

When the same percentages are applied to the number of seats on each committee/body (assuming the committees/bodies remain the same size as in the last municipal year) they give the following provisional entitlement to seats on each committee/body, rounded up or down to the nearest whole seat:-

	Con	Lib Dem	Lab	
Committee Size				Seat Variance
15	8	4	4	+1
13	7	3	3	0
7	4	2	2	+1
6	3	2	2	+1
5	3	1	1	0

The calculation above results in a total variance of +3 seats across all committees/bodies subject to political proportionality. To reach the total available number of seats (62), allocations are adjusted as follows:

	Con	Lib Dem	Lab	
Committee Size				Seat Variance
15	7	4	4	0
13	7	3	3	0
7	3	2	2	0
6	2	2	2	0
5	3	1	1	0

Using the adjusted calculation, the variation of the number of seats based on proportionality and each political party's entitlement is as follows:

	a each penaeai pai	.,	
	Provisional	Entitlement to seats on	Variation
	allocation (as	committees/bodies based on	
	indicated in	proportionality/Widdicombe	
	schedule	principles	
	below)		
Conservative	30	31	-1
Liberal	16	16	0
Democrat			
Labour	16	16	0

Committees, Consultative Forums and Working Parties subject to political proportionality

OVEF	OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE					
Mem	bership (15)	nip (15) Con (7) Lib Dem (4) Lab (4)			Lab (4)	
Cllr.	Lugg	(Lab)	(Chair)			
Cllr.	S. Witts	(Lib)	(Vice Chair	r)		
Cllr.	Gravells	(Con)	(Spokespe	rson)		
Cllr.	Beeley	(Lib)				
Cllr.	Dee	(Con)				
Cllr.	Field	(Lib)				
Cllr.	Haigh	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Hanman	(Con)				
Cllr.	Hansdot	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Lewis	(Con)				
Cllr.	Pullen	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Ravenhill	(Con)				
Cllr.	Taylor	(Con)				
Cllr.	Toleman	(Con)				
Cllr.	Wilson	(Lib)				

PLAN	PLANNING COMMITTEE						
Mem	bership (13)		Con (7)	Lib Der	m (3)	Lab (3)	
Cllr.	Taylor	(Con)	(Chair)				
Cllr.	Lewis	(Con)	(Vice Chair	·)			
Cllr.	Chatterton	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Dee	(Con)					
Cllr.	Hanman	(Con)					
Cllr.	Hilton	(Lib)					
Cllr.	Hobbs	(Lab)					
Cllr.	McLellan	(Lib)					
Cllr.	Mozol	(Lib)		Nan	ned Subs	titutes:	
Cllr.	Noakes	(Con)		Con	-	Tracey	
Cllr.	Ravenhill	(Con)		Lab	-	Bhaimia and Hansdot	
Cllr.	Smith	(Lab)		Lib	-	Brown and Wilson	
Cllr.	Toleman	(Con)					

LICE	LICENSING & ENFORCEMENT COMMITTEE					
Mem	Membership (13) Con (7)		Con (7)	Lib Dem (3)	Lab (3)	
Cllr.	Randle	(Con)	(Chair)			
Cllr.	Patel	(Con)	(Vice Chair)		
Cllr.	Brown	(Lib)				
Cllr.	Chatterton	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Gilson	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Hanman	(Con)				
Cllr.	Llewellyn	(Con)				
Cllr.	Lugg	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Mozol	(Lib)				
Cllr.	Noakes	(Con)				
Cllr.	Ravenhill	(Con)				
Cllr.	Tracey	(Con)				
Cllr.	C. Witts	(Lib)				

AUDIT & GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE						
Meml	bership (7)		Con (3)	Lib Dem (2)	Lab (2)	
Cllr.	Wilson	(Lib)	(Chair)			
Cllr.	Hobbs	(Lab)	(Lab) (Vice Chair)			
Cllr.	Haigh	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Llewellyn	(Con)				
Cllr.	McLellan	(Lib)				
Cllr.	Noakes	(Con)				
Cllr.	Taylor	(Con)				

NB. Comprised of non-Executive Members

ORGANISATIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE							
Membership (5)			Con (3)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)		
Cllr.	Cllr. James (Con) (Chair)						
Cllr.	Dallimore	(Con)	n) (Vice Chair)				
Cllr.	Haigh	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Hilton	(Lib)					
Cllr.	Norman	(Con)					

NB. Members drawn from each of the political groups

EMPLOYEE FORUM					
Membership (3 Cllrs)Con (1)Lib Dem (1)Lab (1)					Lab (1)
Cllr.	Brown	(Lib)			
Cllr.	Llewellyn	(Con)			
Cllr.	Lugg	(Lab)			

GRANTS & COMMUNITY SERVICES FORUM						
Membership (6 Cllrs) plus Cabinet Member for Communities and Neighbourhoods		Con (2)	Lib Dem (2)	Lab (2)		
Cllr.	Beeley	(Lib)				
Cllr.	Bhaimia	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Brown	(Lib)				
Cllr.	Dee	(Con)				
Cllr.	Pullen	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Williams	(Con)				

NB Chaired by voluntary sector

Sub-Committees subject to separate political proportionality

PLANNING POLICY SUB COMMITTEE					
Membership (5)			Con (3)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)
Cllr. Cllr.	Taylor Lewis	(Con) (Con)	(Chair) (Vice Chair)	
Cllr. Cllr.	Dee McLellan	(Con) (Lib)			
Cllr.	Smith	(Lab)			

Committees, Consultative Forums and Working Parties NOT subject to political proportionality

CONSTITUTIONAL & ELECTORAL WORKING GROUP					
Membership (6)			Con (2)	Lib Dem (2)	Lab (2)
Cllr.	Chatterton	(Lab)			
Cllr.	Field	(Lib)			
Cllr.	Hilton	(Lib)			
Cllr.	Noakes	(Con)			
Cllr.	Smith	(Lab)			
Cllr.	Taylor	(Con)		a considered at the firm	

NB. Nominations for Chair and Vice Chair to be considered at the first meeting

REGENERATION ADVISORY BOARD					
Membership (3 Cllrs)	Con (1)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)		
Cllr. Chatterton (La Cllr. Field (Lib Cllr. Randle (Co Plus the Cabinet Memb and Culture in an ex-off	n) n) per for Regeneration	Stephen Lake (ChaUniversity of Glouce representative	estershire of the former GHURC mber		

EQUALITY CHAMPIONS GROUP						
Membership (3)			Con (1)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)	
Cllr.	Dallimore	(Con)	(Chair)			
Cllr.	Haigh	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Wilson	(Lib)				

ICT WORKING GROUP						
Mem	bership (3)		Con (1)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)	
Cllr.	Taylor	(Con)	(Chair)			
Cllr.	Gilson	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Wilson	(Lib)				

BOUNDARY REVIEW WORKING GROUP						
Membership (9)			Con (3)	Lib Dem (3)	Lab (3)	
Cllr. Haigh (Lal		b) (Chair)				
Cllr.	Llewellyn	(Co	n) (Deputy Ch	(Deputy Chair)		
Cllr.	Brown	(Lib))			
Cllr.	Chatterton	(Lat	o)			
Cllr.	Field	(Lib))			
Cllr.	Gravells	(Co	n)			
Cllr.	Hilton	(Lib))			
Cllr.	Porter	(Coi	n)			
Cllr.	Smith	(Lat	o)			